Permanent Representation of the Republic of Slovenia to the OECD /OECD /Bodies and methods of work /




The OECD Council is the highest decision-making body of the OECD. As from 5 July 2018, when Lithuania, the the most recent member of the organization, has deposited the ratified documentation, the Council is composed of 37 representatives of the OECD countries and a representative of the European Union. The European Union, represented by the European Commission, does not have the right to vote. The Council meets on a monthly basis at the level of ambassadors - permanent representatives. Once a year (usually in May or June), it meets at a ministerial level – the so called Ministerial Council - MCM. At that time, the Council determines the organization's strategic orientations for the following year and addresses key issues as well as issues of the organization's functioning.

There are about 350 committees, special bodies and other organs. The working bodies are the content bearers of the OECD's specific areas of review. In the working bodies there are representatives of Member States (in some committees also Non-member States representatives) who exchange good practices and experience at expert level and prepare analysis together with the Secretariat. These analyses serve Member States as a basis for mutual exchanges and progress assessments in order to find solutions to challenges in diverse areas.

The work of the OECD is led by the Secretariat, which is coordinated by the Secretary General. Secretary General José Ángel Gurría is currently carrying out his third term at the helm at the OECD. The main task of the Secretariat is the preparation of expert analysis and the coordination of the work of the committees. Diverse directorates are responsible for respective committees. For example, Directorate for Finance and Entrepreneurship is the holder of the following OECD bodies: the Investment Committee, the Financial Market Committee, the Insurance and Private Pensions Committee, the Competition Committee, the Corporate Governance Committee and the Anti-Bribery Prevention Working Group in International Business transactions. In addition to that, the Secretariat comprises the Directorate of Science, Technology and Industry; Directorate for Employment, Labor and Social Affairs; Directorate of Education; Directorate of the Environment; Directorate of Statistics; Directorate for Trade and Agricultural Policy; Directorate for Public Administration and Territorial Development; Center for Tax Policy and Administration; and a key component: Economic Department.


OECD voluntary programs are not financed by the OECD's regular membership fees, but by collection of voluntary contributions. Such voluntary programs are: Nuclear Energy Agency - NEA; Development Assistance Committee - DAC; schemes in the field of agriculture; International Energy Agency - IEA; Center for Education, Research and Innovation - CERI, International Transport Forum - ITF, etc.


As of Lithuanian accession on 5 July 2018, the OECD Member States are: Australia, Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Chile, Colombia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Israel, Japan, Canada, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Hungary, Mexico, Germany, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States of America.


OECD is developing enhanced cooperation with important global and regional economies, and considers them as key partners. These economies are currently Indonesia, India, Brazil, China and the Republic of South Africa. The purpose of close cooperation is to create a special partnership in the management of global development issues. At the 50th anniversary of the OECD in May 2011, Ministers estimated the development of such new forms of cooperation with each of these countries worthwhile.


OECD has in its fifty years of existence celebrated in 2011, through diverse recommendations on the conduct of policies, the development of high standards of business and the general direction of operation, achieved important results in improving the economic and social well-being of people in the Member States and elsewhere around the world.

In the OECD 50th Anniversary Vision Statement (, the OECD Member States have reaffirmed their founding goals and set out their vision for the future of the organization: developing policies that promote eco-sustainable economic growth, strengthening of investments and trade, providing employment, raising the standard of living, and improving the functioning of markets. The vision also highlights the determination of Member States to ensure that the OECD provides a more inclusive and effective role in the global development network.

The OECD Member States had been hit hard by the deep economic and social crisis; therefore, the organization has decided to focus on issues raised by the crisis:
• restoration of confidence in markets as well as in institutions and companies that are supporting the markets;
• restoration of sustainable public finances as a basis for future sustainable growth;
• promotion of new sources of growth through innovation that are nature-friendly and are supporting the development of emerging economies;
• promotion of productive knowledge of people of all ages, in order to meet the demands of future jobs.
More information on the functioning of the OECD is available at

The OECD offers permanent or temporary employment to nationals of Member States in a wide range of professional fields.
National Experts working in a particular field within national administrations can be seconded to the OECD.
In the OECD, it is also possible to gain experience in the framework of internship or participation in the "Young Professionals" or "Young Associates" programs.
More information on the various OECD work opportunities and current vacancies is available at

After three years of accession negotiations, Slovenia became a member of the OECD in 2010 when it deposited the ratified instrument of accession to the Convention on the OECD at the French Foreign Ministry.


More information on the accession process of Slovenia to the OECD is available at